top of page
  • by Karma Loveday

Thames’ board shake up continues with appointments from energy and transport

Thames Water has appointed two new non executive directors as its board shake up continues. John Morea and David Waboso CBE and have joined as non-executive directors.

Morea has more than 30 years’ experience in the utility sector, including ten years as CEO of Scotia Gas Networks. He was until recently a non-executive director of Associated British Ports and was previously a director of the Energy Networks Association.

Waboso is a chartered engineer and experienced project manager who has led major infrastructure programmes in the UK and overseas, including London’s Jubilee Line extension. He retires from Network Rail in March, where he is currently the managing director, digital railway, and joins as an independent non-executive director.

The appointments come as two non-executives step down. Independent non-executive director Dame Deirdre Hutton left on 31 January 2019, after eight years’ service, and Guy Lambert, head of the infrastructure division of the Abu Dhabi Investment Authority, departed the board on 28 January after four years.

Thames Water is undergoing a major review of its corporate structure and governance to boost transparency for customers and stakeholders, and has pledged to have a majority of independent non-executive directors on its board when the review is completed. Today’s announcement follows the recent appointment of independent non-executive directors, Alistair Buchanan, Jill Shedden and Catherine Lynn, as the company’s board restructure nears completion.

bottom of page