Creagh elected unopposed as chair of environmental audit committee

Following nominations and elections among MPs, Mary Creagh (pictured) has been elected chair of the Environmental Audit Committee for the 2017 Parliament.

She was the sole nomination for the position and was declared elected unopposed.

Creagh will formally take up position as chair of the committee when the remaining members of the committee have been named by the House.

Creagh said: “The environment was conspicuously absent from the Queen's speech. I am determined it will not be ignored in the Brexit negotiations."